Vis Arbitral Moot

Each academic year, the Energy Center sponsors a team in the premiere moot court competition focused on international dispute resolution, the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot.

This year, six students are competing on UT Law’s team: Ashleigh Acevedo, Burton DeWitt, Lauren Miller, Josh Nosal, Hayden Schottlaender, and Zahra Usmani. Two 3Ls who represented UT Law in last year’s Vis moot – Becca Bennie and Garrett Martin – are returning as student coaches.

The team is being coached by Energy Center Executive Director Melinda Taylor and three attorneys from Baker Botts international arbitration practice: partners Michael P. Lennon, Jr., and Jennifer Smith ’90 and associate Dustin Appel.

The Vis moot is designed to foster the study of international commercial law and arbitration for resolution of international business disputes through its application to a concrete problem of a client and to train law leaders of tomorrow in methods of alternative dispute resolution.  The competition is held in Vienna in April and typically attracts participants from more than 200 law schools and 100 countries.

In 2012, two UT Law students, Ji Nin Loh and Emmanuel Garcia, received honorable mention awards for their individual oratory skills.

Photo of UT Law Vis moot students in Vienna
UT Law students compete at the Vis Moot in Vienna